VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Premium Member
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been doing some reading on the cam issue for my 2006 jetta. and with so many options out there to buy cams and cam-kits its hard to pick one. what cam do you think is the best bang for your buck?

and one more question: do you need the vag-com software or is it just nice to do the cam swap?

thanks!

·
Super Moderator
23,902 Posts
To do cam swap, VCDS is not required. It helps prime the fuel system but not required, just makes it easier. It's required to check and fine tune cam timing.

·
Premium Member
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks! I am planning on doing the timing belt and cam soon. just deciding on what cam kit to buy. any suggestions?

·
Premium Member
36 Posts
Kerma TDI sells the excellent Colt Stage 2. More pricey than stock cam but of much better quality. IMO worth the $

·
Premium Member
21 Posts
Just installed Colt stage 2 cam. My opinion is. The kit is worth the cash. I get better throttle response it seems, also MPG went up, and the relief this cam will last.

·
Premium Member
21 Posts
Old cam looked good. Shell T6 5W40 and Mobile were used since 30,000 miles. Things that make you say hmmmm. C AND C music factory!

·
Premium Member
52 Posts
I would be curious to know how is the Colt cam in the long run...Is there anybody that has the cam for a lot of miles? I am trying to weight replacing the cams now or later...I tend to like the Colt cams as well and would love to get them. Also, I wonder if the 500k warranty is coming from the manufacturer or Kerma TDI? It would also be nice if the warranty would be the same without the need to buy the install kit...

·
Premium Member
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #8