VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Vacation is coming up and we are going on a road-trip (Montreal - Orlando FL - Montreal).

Before we are going to leave i will have 3000km before scheduled maintenance i.e. oil change only and once we are back I will be 2000km past maintenance window. I would hate to go in early with still 3000km but...

Know I could do it on the road but does it affect warranty by having it done outside Canada?

Any advise?

·
Registered
97 Posts
This is my opinion, so it is only worth $0.02.
I would think that any VW dealer in the US or Canada, could change your oil and not void your warranty.
I have been changing my own oil on all my vehicles, since 1968. I know they are done correctly and the proper oil is being used. I save all my receipts as documentation that the oil and filters were changed. I never had an issue with warranty due to changing my own oil/filters. BTW my very first new vehicle was a 1969 VW 1500 Super Beetle.
Jim W.

·
Registered
59 Posts
I change mine myself as well for similar reasons--I know it's done right. I would change it before I hit the road so I didn't have to concern myself with it on the road. Robert

·
Registered
308 Posts
Freeflyer-

Based on what your trip plans are and mileage etc, it would do no harm or good as far as the car (engine) is concerned whether or not you do the change before or after. If its your first oil change I would do it before the trip if its a question of either doing it before the trip or after.

When you look at it from a warranty standpoint and showing that you are making a good faith effort to maintain the car should something go wrong down the line, then I believe the decision is obvious...go ahead and get the oil change done before you leave.