VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I am new to the site. I recently bought a 2006 jetta with 85K on the odometer and now its got 117K. Through reading i found the reason for sale was probably the timing belt needs to be changed and I got three shops that all said at least $1,500. I found "Blauparts" on line and they have a kit for under $300 and you can rent tools from them. anyone use them before? I found the article on here about timing belt removal, i read it and can't get access to the installation article. what's the trick there? I am beginning to think I am over my head on this repair. I am a mechanical engineer but have done little on cars, is this straight forward? If I take my time and read the instructions are there any other nuggets people have for me? thanx, Byron in maryland

·
Premium Member
23,902 Posts
The kit from Blauparts is fine. Now that you've posted an intro you can see the full article.

It's pretty straightforward and I think the instructions should be clear enough, if not, please post a suggestion or contribute your own suggestion to the article. The only other special tools you'll need are an engine support, torque wrench.

IMHO, do it yourself because most places aren't familiar with the TDI engine and will probably screw it up. If they don't have the tools forget using them. Also, check the camshaft for wear, this is a common problem and it's most convenient to change it when the timing belt is being serviced. See the article in the FAQ for this. Check out the new buying guide for a list of other common problem.s
welcometomyturbodies

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3