VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
this is basically my notes cleaned up a little bit on the procedure based on the Bentley manual and a plethora of online resources which may or may nor always be available.

So what I tell you is if you’re like me and you’ve been reading Service manuals and then performing the work on your vehicle and others vehicles since you were 17, then go for it, it’s pretty easy. This is my first time making a DIY. It is my first time doing a camshaftt change or Timing belt on any vehicle!
Get the alignment tools ! they really do put you in time the mark and pray method, Its a coin flip, you will be in time enough i suppose, but you can optimize you engine so why not do so? Ok my uneducated rant over.

I repeat. insert image here

You need the timing tools...the kit like $60 on amazon!

other tools needed. off memory, a breaker bar, hose clap tool , pliers work. A complete socket set 10,13,15,16 18, 19
the 19 needs to be a 12 point for crank pulley
the 18 is also a 12 point for the cam
You need 5mm and 6mm hex
Triple square 8,10, 12, 14

I used 1/4, 3/8, and 1/2" drives, the 1/4 makes some things MUCH easier to reach!
you also need various extensions and ratchets ecy. Phillips and flat head screwdriver‘s.

You also obviously need all the parts and replacement fluids. also you should get the extra Oil oil filters coolant break in oil, and power steering fluid. it adds up but its all basicallyneeded.
Finally, Let me just say, if you don’t have a decent torque wrench you shouldn’t do this job!
I have two a 1/2 and a 3/4 in digital one is quinn one is craftsmen. I got them really cheap brand new or id have to borrowed one.