VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Cousin in law has a 1999.5 Jetta 5 speed TDI with 142,000 miles on it. He just replaced the clutch and said that he has a dealer reciept for the timeing belt replacement at 90K by the previous owner.
He is only asking $3,800 whicih is a great price, but after looking at the how to article on changing the timing belt it looks like a nightmare to work on these little things. I'm a pretty good Mechanic but on truck not mini cars.
I am pretty sure I am going to get it but I am curious, generaly how much does it cost to have the timing belt changed by a TDI Mechanic? It looks like I could do it my self for about $400 to $450 if I rent the tools. If it cost $1000 at a garage you have to save a lot of gas to make it worth it it seems.
What is this boards opinion?

·
Registered
142 Posts
That's very reasonable miles for the year. A garage might charge that much but someone working out of their garage might charge $300 plus parts. IMHO, do it yourself and learn about the car and you already have most of the tools. There's also FAQ article on buying a used mk4 that has lots more common problems.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks.
It is very tempting. I drive 440 miles each week to work and my 2008 4x4 ram mega cab only gets 14.5 mpg. So the car will pay for it's self pretty fast. I almost always work on my own vehicles and equipment myself but that Timing belt job looks daunting.

·
Premium Member
23,902 Posts