VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, everybody! Newbie here with a 2006 Jetta TDI pkg 2. My problem started about two weeks after I bought the car (used) from a reputable Saab dealer in New London, CT. At the time it had 85k on it. Now it's at 101k and the drivers power seat moves up and down completely sporadically and on its own with no warning at all. In the beginning it would only do this once every several days. Now it does it every time I drive it. Usually don't have to go more that 10 minutes or so and up & down I go. Thankfully it only "tilts" the part of of the seat that your butt is on and not the back rest portion. Also it DOES NOT move forward and backward...only up and down.

What the hell is causing this??? Before I start shotgunning parts into it or going to a stealership i wanted to get as many of your opinions as possible. Thanks for any help!!

·
Premium Member
736 Posts
Are you sure it didn't come with the butt massage option? :dunno

When that starts to happen then press swithc that controls your seat for "but option" in one direction and see what happens. If the seat continues to go in the opposite direction then you have somewhere short to positive in the wiring between the seat swithc and ccm. If not, then it is just intermittently lose connection in the switch. What you can do is adjust it the way you like and just cut one of the wires that go to that particular swithc for now until you get the new one, or you find the swithc on the junk yard. (It doesn't have to be from the 06 models maybe older models use the same type of the switch).

good luck! Al

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3