VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good day everyone,

My name is Rob Chambers and I have a 2004 Jetta TDI with 4002,000 kms' on it now. Have replaced 2 turbo's. I am now experiencing lose of turbo, turbo returns after turning ignition off to on, but only works for about 10 seconds and then turns off again. Joined this site because I am getting tired of the costly repairs from the dealership.

Thanks

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hello and thanks for your reply. Went to a private garage that fixes Jetta's specifically. He told me both times that the turbo was gone, the replacement of the first 2 turbos was because their was a whole lot of white smoke coming out the exhaust and he told me that the turbo was gone. I am very new to diesel's actually know nothing about them at all. So i joined this site to try to save money and learn about them. I am mechanically inclined so i believe with help i can resolve this issue with the limp mode. I took off the clip ring and remove i believe was the intercooler output hardpipe-intake lastnight and it was clean. I did however notice with a flashlight that there was oil residue and build-up underneath the EGR. There is a exhaust leak somewhere in this area, in cold weather start-ups and alot of white smoke comes out from under the hood nothing when it is warmer out. Alot of carbon in the engine firewall area and you can hear the leak. Any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated as I cannot afford another $2300 to change out turbo.

Thanks Rob

·
Premium Member
23,902 Posts
I can't speak about the previous turbo problems but there is most likely no problem with the turbo right now since it's so new. If you remove intercooler lower hose and there's only a little oil, turbo is not leaking oil into intake.