VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I've been reading and trying to absorb info from this site and decided it was time to join! I bought a 2004 tdi beetle for my wife. It had a bad leak in the plastic piping going to the intercooler which i finally found and fixed. Ran great for a couple of weeks but started noticing increased smoking and went into limp mode with alot of black smoke on acceleration. Took to local mechanic and the turbo is leaking oil and they said the shaft has alot of loose play. They want to replace turbo. I brought it home and have a little time to investigate the problems myself. What do you guys suggest? Hopeful for some good advice. I'm not a diesel mechanic, but I do farm and am always wrenching on something! I figure he's probably right, just want to make sure before I invest in a turbo and time to put it on.

·
Premium Member
5,942 Posts
If the oil is going through the turbo and being burnt off then the turbo is probably Knackered but if it's leaking oil down the back of the engine it might be coming from somewhere else, there's quite often a bit of play on the turbo shaft and I wouldn't take that alone to right one off. The oil could be coming from the egr and dripping down there.:)

welcometomyturbodies

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
seatman

From what i see the oil is leaking down the back of the motor. Would you investigate just by taking apart and seeing what I find or what?

·
Premium Member
23,902 Posts
The leaking down the back is probably loose valve cover.

Pressure test the piping, the intake piping clips are a known weak spot.

Gas mechanics often mistake the oil for a blown turbo, it's from teh crank case vent, settles in the low spots and pools. It is also possible of course that your turbo is leaking oil internally which means replacement.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Turbo ??? Troubles