VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hello all. Here's a little about me and why I'm here.

I'm a school teacher now approaching retirement age and have in the past twelve months have part-exchanged my achingly beautiful and scarily fast Alfa Romeo GTA for something a little more practical, a 2009 Skoda Octavia vRS with manual gearbox. The car has the common rail diesel engine and is completely standard, producing a maximum of 168 bhp at 4100 rpm and a maximum of 258 lb ft of torque. It's a large and perfectly competent car, based as it is upon the VW Golf Mk5 chassis and as a result its ride and handling are first class. If anything though I find it a bit dull to drive, particularly after the Alfa but there's a kit car in the garage for excitement.

My Skoda isn't the reason I'm here though. I arrived here after searching for info on behalf of my son. He has a 2003 SEAT Leon Cupra diesel with the 150 bhp ARL PD engine. About three days ago he broke down and the garage diagnosis was that the car was suffering from the well-documented worn out camshaft. Garage estimate for repair was about GBP1600. This is just too much money as he's about to change jobs and buy a house, so we're going to do it ourselves - it's only nuts and bolts. I'd no idea the problem existed, let alone that it was quite common.

Normally I wouldn't work on my daily driver, nor my son's, but as we can obtain the parts for around GBP 500 provided that I can use the rockers, or about GBP 750 if I cannot. I've never owned or worked on a diesel before so there's never been a better time to scan the forums and learn from others' mistakes! The car is due a cam belt about now anyway so this might be a good time for that and a water pump.