VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. My name is Nick and I just bought a used 2006 Jetta TDI. I plan to do several mods and upgrades to the car in the future. I'm a college student but I'm not new to the diesel world because I also have a 1996 Ford F-250 Powerstroke which I have also done several mods on. One of the first few things I plan to do to my car is upgrade the headlights and install the factory fog lights. I have already skimmed some of the FAQ postings on this site but I get confused with the many options and terminology available for this car. I have shopped on ebay a bit and I like the look of the fixtures that mimic the Audi daytime running lights with the bi-xenon projector. Has anyone on this forum had any good luck with the lights for sale on ebay or would the general concensus be to stay away from these options? As far as the HIDs go, I'd like to install retro-solutions 55W HID kit that I have used before on my other vehicles with great results. Is this possible with any of the headlight fixtures available for my car? I'd really appreciate any feedback. Look forward to hearing from you guys!

·
Premium Member
5,942 Posts
Hi bud, welcometomyturbodies. I don't know about the VW's but a lot of people over here in the UK are using hid kits they've bought off ebay with good success on their Seat cars which are vag's but with a Spanish twist. You can check it out at www.seatcupra.net. I imagine the fittings etc are much the same.:)

·
Premium Member
23,902 Posts
Don't install the HID kits in your stock halogen housings. The reflector pattern simply isn't designed for it. You could get OEM HID headlights - there's a writeup in the FAQ on how to install. You have to have a highline controller though which depends on what package your Jetta is. If you're not sure which package it is, check out the 05-06 buying guide. OEM is the most expensive though.