VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I have been driving a 2000 Golf TDI for about 8 months now. I have done much of the regular maintenance, including changing the timimg belt, tensioners and water pump a couple of months ago. However, I did not adjust the injection pump timing after this job because I did not have the software.

The car runs great and uses about 5.5 l/100km (about 42 mpg). However, the official Transport Canada rating for this year and model of car is about 4.4 l/100km (about 53 mpg) on the highway.
See: http://oee.nrcan.gc.ca/transportation/tools/fuel-consumption-guide/fuel-consumption-guide-results.cfm?year=2000&type=CPC&Mfg=VOLK

I am wondering if adjusting the injection timing could make this much difference to a car with 325,000 km on it. Everything else on the vehicle has been great, and considering that I drive about 100 highway km /day, it would be nice to squeeze a little better mileage out if it.

I have found this forum useful and would appreciate the insight of other users.

·
Premium Member
23,902 Posts
Is it an auto? That lowers mpg. Winter fuel has lower mpg vs. summer fuel. Tires and cargo load also make a big difference in mpg. Injection pump timing shouldn't make that big of a difference in mpg unless it was way off but it does make a difference.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's a manual transmission. The tire pressure is good, and there is no load in the car on a regular basis except two adult passengers. My driving habits are also good, as I consistently get over 1000 km per tank.

The pumps may now be dispensing winter fuel but I was getting about the same mileage all summer long. I am just wondering if I should be happy with this (already good) mileage, or if it can be improved further to be closer to what the official figures say.

·
Premium Member
54 Posts