VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there,
I'm an engineer. I earn a decent income. How come I can't afford to have someone else do my timing belt?!! Is it common to pay $1000 for the privilege? My wife actually owns(ed on the '96, as it's down and the engine won't rotate) the Jetta's and I'm the owner of a diesel Jeep that I love.

Someone please let me know if this job is do-able for an engineer with wrenching ability. Thanks, and I hope to learn lots of good tips.
Thanks,
Tucson Don

·
Premium Member
11 Posts

Hi,
I'm the owner of a 01 Jetta that is in need of a new clutch:panic: Just hoping to get some advise on what to expect.

Thanks

·
Premium Member
9,720 Posts
Welcome to the forum. welcometomyturbodies
I'm the owner of a 01 Jetta that is in need of a new clutch:panic: Just hoping to get some advise on what to expect.
If you're a new member please make you own new topic (intro) don't add it to an existing thread which is not related?

·
Premium Member
9,720 Posts
Welcome to the forum Tucson Don. welcometomyturbodies

I think you need to explain in more detail why your wife's 96 Jetta doesn't turn over? Did this happen while trying to start or was she driving and the engine stopped?

As for being an engineer then you should have sufficient knowledge to do a timing belt change yourself.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
'96 Won't Turn Over Response

Hey Keith, thanks for the welcome.
After reading the how to's, I believe I can handle this job and put the saved $700 towards her big 11th anniversary celebration of her 29th b-day!