VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I found some of the DYI pages while doing research for replacing my blown turbo (04 TDI.) Very helpful and now I am doing research to see what I need to do while I have the car apart.

I am new to turbos so I am just reading what I can. The basic story is that I recently bought a used 04 TDI. Ran great for 5 months and then it started making a funny sound. Kinda like a whooshing sound whenever I was in the rpm range for the turbo. My wife was entering the freeway gaining speed on the on ramp when she heard the whoosh a lot louder. Then the car had no power and would not go above 55. She drove straight home and now I am trying to figure out what happened.

I took the turbo out this afternoon. Wasn't the best way to spend the afternoon, but its done.

I found oil in the intake hoses, and looks to be some in the intake manifold too. The turbo itself looks like it has some seeping from different areas. I know very little about turbos or how to diagnose failure, so I will do my research and pool my friends.

My uneducated guess is that the bearing seized on the turbo, and that the car went into the limp-mode.

While going through the steps to take out the turbo I found that my EGR pipe that attaches to the EGR cooler was missing a bolt and that the other bolt was loose. The gasket was half falling out and I have soot everywhere. My guess is that the whooshing sound I heard was directly related to this.

I appreciate any help I can get. So far this forum has proven to be very informative. Please post a link if there are similar threads to what I have started.

·
Registered
482 Posts