VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Was told about your sight from a local VW guy, thought I'd give it a try. I am a foster parent to an orphaned 98 Jetta TDI that has passed from shop to shop over the course of 2yrs. The list of repairs is crazy, but no solution to the problem. In a nutshell, will not rev past 2200 rpm. Runs perfect otherwise. No smoke, no skip, no unusual noises, just no power. Have not scanned for codes yet, but I found your site and felt it would be a great aid to my situation. Not new to diesel, I also have a 92 Dodge with a Cummins thats been modified and an 80 Mercedes 300sdl. I am an ASE master technician (20 years), and am currently a retail mgr. for one of the national parts chains, I have a "man cave" at home were I still do work for others. I worked in a all Mercedes shop doing restorations for 8 years, hence the term "benzteck". Would love to help others if I can, I will post any findings I have when I get a chance to get back to work on the Jetta. Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions and help!

Robin

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So what's the list of repairs? Maybe they messed one of them up.
This is a short list of what was done by 3 different shops (in no direct order as this was told to me second hand from original owner): new timing belt (they thought it jumped time), new mass air flow sensor, new injection pump, new injectors, new turbocharger, no glow plugs (?), and the bleeding stopped when they replaced the short block. I'm sure I left out something. Owners got so disgusted they abandoned car at last shop after paying repair bill and went to dealer and ordered new his and hers TDI's. Oh yeah, they also replaced the ECU, just remembered that one. Hoping to start work on car next week, will check out suggested info and go from there. Thanks again!!

·
Premium Member
23,902 Posts