VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings Folks:

I have lurked here for some time. The information is wonderful and I have learned much. I am not a mechanic of cars but do have basic understanding of mechanics. I put my own timing belts on the steel block oldies.

Have owned diesels from 77rabit 79 Dasher 90 Jetta (256K then retired it) 04 Jetta wagon.

I do not know the engine and trans I have. Yes the engine is 2.0 TDI, but strange. Here is what perplexes me. Needed a starter. Simple install as on MY Jetta, it is Not on any bell housing. It is on the top of the transmission held in by two bolts. It is made by Hitachi. I ordered four wrong starters, could not find one like it, and finally went to dealer who ordered one of the two existing in the North American Continent. I have yet to come across a picture of my car on any forum. I have a tip tronic automatic.

It's good to have joined finally. Yes I have other questions coming. LOL DL

·
Super Moderator
23,902 Posts
Hmm.....how do you know the engine is a 2.0L TDI. The 2004 VW Jetta wagon TDI should have been a 1.9L pumpe duse BEW code engine.

Can you open the driver's side door and see what information is there? It should have a build date and assembly, it might have a clue to your car's ID.

Can you look at the timing belt cover and see what info is there? It may have an engine code there.

Pics of the engine cover and the valve cover would also help identify the engine.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited by Moderator)
Thank you CCBB for your quick reply. I love diesels but this one I would NEVER put my own timing belt on.

On the door sill, 9-03 and vin is wvwsr61j04w03928