VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!
This is my first time posting here, I'm looking forward to contributing.

Heres my problem. I drove my 06' Beetle TDI into some pretty deep flood waters. Stalled out. (Please understand that I know how stupid this was.) I had a friend tow me out backwards. I pulled the air cleaner apart immediately and found the filter soaked, and a little water had made it's way past the filter into the MAF housing and such. Not so much that I was afraid of the engine having ingested a dangerous amount (of course I don't know what dangerous would be, but it was just a little damp, not flooded.)
I cleaned and dried everything and replaced the filter with new. I did not change the oil but it seemed free of any water at least on the dipstick and inside the filler cap. The engine was at no time submerged, the water was only up to maybe the middle of the front bumper on the drivers side only( I drove into a ditch that was not visible because of the flood waters. The car only tilted into it deeply on the one side.)
Upon restarting the car, which it did pretty quickly after cranking, although very rough running at first, a lot of water was blown out of the exhaust. I assume that the tailpipe had been submerged but did not notice this at the time.
I'm trying to provide as much info as possible to help a diagnosis but to make a long story shorter, the car runs pretty well now except for rough cold starting and some smoking. After warming up I think it is back to normal, possibly seems a little louder, but I may just be listening to hard.
The roughness and smoke is very disconcerting though.
So what do the experts think? Would this little bit of filtered water in the intake damage the MAF sensor? Or could the water in the exhaust have damaged the O2 sensor? Or something worse?
The car has 28K miles.