VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Premium Member
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Fist off, thanks for the great site. I have literally spent the last 3 hours reading everything from mk3 tdi to current. I must say the diesel info found here is better than pay subscriptions such as alldata or mitchell. Very impressed.

Fist off, i work as a german auto tech. All i own is german cars. It is my profession as well as my passion. With that said, i have never had to really diagnosis a tdi until 3 weeks ago. Prior to this time, my limited interaction w/ tdi's was service items like timing belts or state inspections. This is not because i haven't wanted to, just i never had the chance too. My clientele is not the tdi market nor the diesel market. I have worked on more diesel g-wagons than tdi's. So my interaction w/ vw diesels has been rare. That was until my friend bought a used tdi and my pumpe duse saga begins

2004 bew jetta wagon. 160k on it. My friend asks me to look at it. It has a burned up glow plug harness. I note the glow plugs are different. 1 11v plug and the other 3 were lower rated than what the harness put out. So new glow plugs and harness i think im done. That is until my roadtest.

Upon acceleration car hesitates around 2500/3k. Cross between a compressor surge and detonation feeling. However it clears right up if you down shift it.

This was coupled with a bad maf signal--low or faulty reading. So i watch blocks 10 and 11. I note the maf only reads 700 at wot despite being told it should hit 1000-- turbo works as desired boost is being met. 2000mbar iirc at wot. i chalk up my maf as going bad. My mistake there.

new maf on, no difference. Hmm, did i miss something. So start looking for the obvious stuff. Smoke check the intake tract from the maf tube--no leaks. Pull off the pd diverter valve-- notice a ton of carbon build up. Off comes the intake.