VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I didn't introduce myself before posting in the a forum. Opps my bad.

I've been driving a 2003 New Beetle GLS TDI Automatic since September 2003. I reside in St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada. I was actually directed to this site by my brother-in-law. However, I do not believe he's a member. He too drives a New Beetle TDI, a 2000 I believe.

I had the dealership do all maintenance on the vehicle while it was under lease and while it was under warranty.

During that time I experienced a cooling issue and limp mode This required a number of visits between January 2006 and May 2006. Under warranty the dealership corrected a coolant leak; but I believe they neglected to replace the coolant temp sensor. My temp sensor would stay blue for a very long time all the time. I eventually had this replaced at another garage and the temperature light has been perfect since.

During the time when the coolant issue was a problem the car went limp. I brought it right to the dealership. At that I had an open work order and my car went off warranty. The dealership I believe replaced my Mass Airflow Sensor and either replaced my Turbo or cleaned the actuator etc. I would lean more towards replacing the turbo as it seems to be more of a dealership thing to do.

After that my car was relatively good and ran well, other than oil changes, brakes, and some bushings all was well.

In mid 2008 or 2009 I had trouble with my Alternator and had a rebuilt one installed.

In December 2010 I started having trouble starting the car. I had the starter replaced, and still had trouble. Even though my battery appeared good to me, the shop I have been using replaced my battery. The problem persisted; although changed slightly. They then replaced the starter again because the head on the first one had broken or something...