VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Premium Member
15 Posts
Help, I am new to the TDI and VW in general. As I posted previously the engine mount bracket ears broke off my '06 TDI's block (top rear) and accessory mount bracket. I have gathered what I believed was the needed parts including:Dieselgeek block repair kit, new/different eng. mounting bracket, middle timing belt cover, all stretch bolts, VW coolant (Pentofrost) and began the job. I am taking a break now and wondering if anyone out there has ever done or seen this repair done, particularly; 1. without a lift ie w/ramps, jack stands, engine suspension bracket & floor jack? 2. If this job can be done w/o removing or at least disconnecting the exhaust collector? 3. should all gaskets & bolts for the egr be replaced w/new on reassembly? Any actual MK5 pictures, diagrams, shortcuts, or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I have the Bently Service Manual for '05 - '10 Jetta' s but details of the egr removal/replacement are lacking. Thanks, Mike