VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1998 Golf Tdi 90hp

Hello folks. New to the site and I hope that there maybe some info here to help me.

I have just bought a real bargain, 1998, 2 owner 38,000 mile with full VW history. New cambelt at 17,000 because of age. It is in perfect condition and I am extremely pleased.

BUT

It drives very smoothly and no patchy feeling on the power. I have covered 300 miles on half a tank so economy is not in question.

It doesen't feel as thought there is a turbo on the engine at all. I am new to the engine but if the turbo is working it is not noticeable. I have of course checked and it is what it says namely a 1998 s tdi 90

The condition of the engine bay is like new and all the pipe work appears to be in excellent order

Any thoughts anybody?

Thanks in advance,

Jpd

·
Premium Member
23,902 Posts
Wow, 38,000 miles on a 98jaw drops

A few questions: The UK models were typically a year or two ahead of the US. Is this a mk3 or mk4 (4th generation)?

What engine code do you have? Can you take a picture of the engine bay with the plastic engine cover off?

Take a look through the low power checklist: http://www.myturbodiesel.com/1000q/multi/low-power-fix-TDI.htm

It's probably not related to the low mileage but could be related to age: rotten vacuum lines, etc. If you're still stuck or fix it, please post a follow up. It should feel quite lively even with only 90 hp.
welcometomyturbodies

·
Premium Member
5,942 Posts
Get a code reader or vcds/vagcom, my neighbours car's having a similar issue and it's the maf that's bad but I wouldn't have found out without the scan.:)
welcometomyturbodies

Pretty sure that's the first of the Mk4 chitty but not 100%

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you for the response Chitty and Seatman,