VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 20 of 169 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
Hi, I own a 1987 Jetta Turbo Diesel, I have it 3 years now and really love it.
I have a problem and would like some input into what happened to it.
This is my first time trying to fix a car, What happened is, I had to change the rad hose, then I accedently cut into the hose that goes from the coolant pump to the coolant reserve container, I got all that done, now it won't start, it ran great when I parked it there. (approx. 7 weeks ago)
I get in the car and all the lights come on, it buzzes the normal seat belt buzz, the glow plug light works, but when I turn the key, the engine doesn't make a sound. I've cleaned both battery cables, and the ground wire on the engine near the top, I'm trying to get the blue wire off (it's the other ground to the battery) to clean it too, I cleaned the starter wires.
I also was spraying WD-40 too. Would the WD-40 prevent a wire from connecting?
The battery is brand new, so is the Altenator, the Starter too is fairly new.

·
Premium Member
5,942 Posts
On the side of the starter motor is a smaller round thing, get someone to turn the key while you hit it with a crowbar or hammer if you can get to it, it's probably sticking from sitting around. Also make sure the little wire going to it is ok and is connected, it's the starter solonoid and it's that that connects the power to the starter motor, if it doesn't click at all then that's where you'll need to start.:)

welcometomyturbodies

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you very much..It was the wire on the starter, I had taken it off to clean it, (before I tried to start to start the first time)
Then I guess I put it all back together and didn't realize I hid the slip-in-wire with the bigger wires. oops!
It's running again now.