VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a retired mechanic attempting to help a friend that has a 2.0 TDI (PD)with a broken chain tensioner.
I see information ( very helpful I might add,) about the gear conversion. I'm guessing there is no way to use the older 1.9 PD oil pump / sump and simply do away with all of the balance module?
thanks Larry

·
Premium Member
23,902 Posts
I've heard that someone got rid of the module but they didn't like it. The balance shaft module smooths out the engine and I don't even know what part they used because the oil pump is driven off it.

Read this FAQ for some background on it: http://www.myturbodiesel.com/1000q/b5/oil-pump-failure-passat-tdi.htm Part 2 has some repairs and specs. How bad was the failure? If really bad you're looking at removing the crankshaft, possible camshaft repair, turbo repair.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have removed the front crank seal plate.One side of the front metal part that retains the chain dampener shoe was broken and the piece wore a small hole in the seal support, in the area of the sponge/plastic part.this was how I got involved.... (massive oil leak). Vehicle has no lack of oil pressure/lights/buzzers etc. I thought the front seal had blown out, but then found the hole in the cover. I suppose I could pull the pan and merely replace the broken piece, without doing all this "upgrading".

·
Premium Member
23,902 Posts
VW removed the part number for the chain from the parts catalog....I believe you can still buy a tensioner but it's a horrible design and the chance that it'll just break again is good.

For this amount of work I hope your friend is treating you with a big favor in return! Pulling the pan requires you to drop the subframe for access. IMHO, do the upgrade, put on a new timing belt/rollers/tensioner/water pump, and the car will be good to go for years.