VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm a newbie here, planning on getting the TDI.... It seems like this car is on high demands...most dealers around me area (South Bay, Los Angeles) does not carry this car.... Well, they said that I have to order it..etc...

Anyway, for the income tax credit.... I'm not an accounting freak here...but in order to qualify for it... I must file tax as itemized deductions only...and not standard deductions.... Is that correct?

Also, I read somewhere that this tax credit is only for the first 60,000 vehicles....and that every vehicle afterwards gets a smaller ammount....

·
Registered
49 Posts
Don't know about the mechanics of filing for the credit (wife is a CPA, so leave that to her). However, you can take a look at my post from a week or two ago about the 60,000 number. My understanding is that full credit is give through the calendar quarter FOLLOWING the calendar quarter in whcih the 60,000th qualifying VAG vehicle is sold. This means that if the 60K car sells in May 2010, you have until 9/30 to buy / register. if the 60K car sells in the 3rd quarter, you have until the end of the year. Credit only applies through 2010 anyway, so after that is moot. Anyone's guess when the 60K car will be sold, as the numbers are not posted (see my post / rant from earlier on this topic).

·
Registered
10 Posts
The income tax credit for the diesel is an offset to the federal taxes you will owe. It's applied directly to the tax amount. It doesn't make any difference if you itemize or if you take the standard deduction.

That's just as regards this particular credit on fed taxes. There's also sales tax and California income tax to be dealt with in a car purchase. My accountant will have to help me with that.

(I live in your area and purchased my Audi TDI on Sat. Yippee!)

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5