VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I braved the cold today to wash my TDI and discovered the center portion of the lower plastic grill had been neatly punched out. I can only assume it was someone's trailer hitch bracket in a parking lot. There is only a tiny ding on the fins only of what I assume is the intercooler. That was a stroke of good luck.

I plan on buying a new one from the dealer. How hard is it to replace? Is the center portion a separate part from the sides that hold the turning lights? Should I have the dealer replace it? I am not a mechanic but am reasonably competent with tools.

Thanks,

Frog. (could'a been worse)

·
Registered
278 Posts
That sucks. A trailer hitch should be higher no?

There are normally screws or clips that hold the grille. Look around the edges for black screws or clips. I know that the foglight grilles come out so maybe the screws are underneath those.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I first though small animal, but no fur or feathers, noted no "bump" while driving, and there is a very small rectangular dent in the fins of the intercooler radiator just visible under the left (your left) license plate bolt. It is just visible in the photo. Of course some jealous soul could have whacked it with something, but that very seldom happens. In reality, I do not know what hit the car. I am forever thankful it did no serious damage to the internals.

·
Premium Member
9,661 Posts
Well the parts diagram doesn't really show any fixing screws/bolts it just looks like they push in.

Vent grille satin black/high chrome - 5K0 853 671 RYP - £63.98

or

Vent grille satin black - 5K0 853 677 A 9B9 - £31.16

I will post a picture if I'm allowed. ;)

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Keith,