VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When accelerating even slightly when the engine is under load I get a shudder with the frequency of being on a rumble strip at about 30 MPH. I can accelerate on through it. Usually it's just for a few seconds and it doesn't shake the car. More like a rapid misfire. I have battled this for several years and it has gone away for months at a time. I have tried engine treatments and have sometimes thought they helped but not sure.
I had to replace the ECU about 3 months ago and the shudder stopped for a couple months then came back. this may have just been a coincidence.
I am new to VCDS and, of course, this forum. If anyone can offer help for this problem it will be much appreciated.
Thanks

·
Registered
70 Posts
What engine? That's an odd one for a diesel. Changed ECU clears up temporarily makes me think something electric, but there ain't much electrics going on under acceleration. Failing DMF or motor mount?
Almost forgot to ask- What transmission? The 01M is famous for this type of stuff.
Check for stored codes.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. I'm new to the forum and I realize there is a lot of info I left out.
The engine is a MK4 ALH TDI with an automatic transmission. 217K on the odometer, and I have owned the car since 35K .
A motor mount has crossed my mind as a possibility. However, even though the shudder can be felt it seems to be isolated with the engine. I read somewhere the mounts are fluid filled and to look for leaks . I have but there is no evidence of leaks. also, since it has been going on for several years, it would seem that a mount would continue to deteriorate and the problem get worse.
I also had a limp mode problem at times for a few years. Nearly 2 years ago I replaced the MAF sensor and the air filter with OEM and cleared up the limp mode and for months I didn't have the shudder.