VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all - I'm new to the site, and to any site, a bit of a computer dinosaur. Own a 2006 Jetta TDI with 115K and the car has been great. Last Friday got first check light and asked the dealer where I bought the vehicle new from to read the code for me but they wanted 70 bucks. I have been choked at this dealer for a long time, they would not answer any of my questions without bringing the vehicle in, simple stuff like resetting the maintenance reminder (I'm done with those A - holes). Anyway bought a OBD2 reader for 100bucks and found code P0674 ( #4 glow plug) Still looking for more info on changing the plug or troubleshooting the circuit. What service manual is the best and where to get one? FYI I'm a aviation mechanic with 30+ yrs so no worries on doing the work just need some info. Sure appreciate some guidance and I'm sure the info is in this black box computer somewhere. Later

·
Premium Member
9,654 Posts
Welcome to the forum. welcometomyturbodies

EOBD II Error Code: P0674

Fault Location:
Glow plug, cylinder 4 - circuit malfunction

Possible Cause:
Wiring.
Poor connection.
Relay.
Glow plug control module.
Glow plug.
Engine control module (ECM).

As taken from my http://www.myturbodiesel.com/forum/f9/free-eobd-ii-error-codes-software-2919/

You should have posted in the Intro section really?

·
Premium Member
23,902 Posts
Post moved, he already admitted he was a computer dinosaur Keithuk!

Check for corrosion on the GP wire plug and chaffing harness wiring. If none, a new GP harness is probably needed. The Bentley service manual is what you want, has full wiring diagrams. There are a few mistakes, omissions, and things that I would like to see like cylinder head rebuild specs but it's the only option.

With that much experience why did you continue to go to the dealer!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4