VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

Do I need a new AC Compressor?

3K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  Keithuk 
#1 ·
I was driving along at 100 degrees outside and the cold air just quit. It got hot in the car real fast. While the car was at the dealership (for a different problem) they told me there was no coolant in the system. I tried looking around for a leak. There seems to be A/C oil and residue (I have never worked on A/C before so I am not positive) on the compressor. I can't find it anywhere else. Also (see picture), the metal gasket in the middle of the compressor seems to have blown out on one side.
Some questions:
1) Is it possible for that gasket to fail like that and would that make me loose all the coolant? Is that the likely place for the leak?
2) Can that gasket get replaced?
3) Is it worth just replacing the gasket, or is my compressor bad?
4) This car has a clutchless compressor. I just noticed in Bentley that you shouldn't drive with a discharged system. I have been. Did I damage the compressor more?

I tried to put some more R134 into the system, but it will not take a charge. Nothing will go in at all. I read some other places that this might happen unless it gets vacuumed first. Does this make sense?
I live in Italy and do not speak Italian. I am in the Navy and have a US Spec car.
Thanks!

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Sorry to hear, that's a tough position to be in, overseas with a US car.