VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi - I am retrofitting an RNS 315 nav unit into a 2011 JSW Sportwagen (replacing the RCD 510). Does anyone know the correct coding for this? The VW service department I am using could not find it.
Thanks very much!

·
Premium Member
9,654 Posts
Are you talking about the radio coding or VCDS coding?

If you're retrofitting it doesn't it come with a manual? ;)

·
Registered
76 Posts
It's the same as the rns 510 as far as coding. It's pretty much plug and play, just need to enable the navigaition to get the info in the MFD.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Are you talking about the radio coding or VCDS coding?

If you're retrofitting it doesn't it come with a manual? ;)
Hi Keith- thanks for your reply. As you can tell I'm a total novice at all this. Isn't there some code that the dealer adds to the car's computer to get a new component to be properly recognized by the car's system? There was no manual or instructions of any kind in the VW box the RNS 315 came in. There was only a small schematic of the connections that was glued to the back of the machine. This was definitely the way it comes from VW.

I have the anti-theft code, that's not what the dealer seems to need. He's looking for the code that gets the RNS 315 to operate properly withthecar.

As for a user manual. Hah! I had to buy that from The VW literature vendor for $17.

Thanks again for your reply,
Henry

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It's the same as the rns 510 as far as coding. It's pretty much plug and play, just need to enable the navigaition to get the info in the MFD.
Thanks! I think that's what the dealer used. They just weren't sure it was the right thing to do since there were no instructions of any kind with the unit.

·
Premium Member
9,654 Posts