VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi - I am a total novice and just bought a 2011 JSW TDI. I love the car but unfortunately I did not find this forum until after I bought. I may be taking some long trips later but right now only mostly drive about 5-10 miles a day on city streets. I've noticed the MPG mileage computer on the dash is dropping significantly and I have already had the car go through 2 DPF regen cycles within 300 miles of driving and I found this quote on this site: "Very short trips in general are not optimal for any engine because moisture in the engine and exhaust won't have time to fully evaporate." Also the car is not recommended for inhabitants of the the Channel Islands. Well, Miami Beach is not the Channel Islands but it is a pretty confined area.

My question is this: Can mostly short trip driving permanently ruin your mileage and damage your engine or will mileage improve as soon as you take longer trips?

Thanks very much.

·
Premium Member
9,661 Posts
Welcome to the forum Henry. welcometomyturbodies

Well you haven't stated what mpg its showing on the MFD/MFI.

As for taking back to the stealer for 2 DPF regen cycles I wouldn't think that is necessary as you can do your own. Just give it a cruise at 70mph up an interstate for 10 miles that will burn the soot of the DPF, burn the water thats accumulated in the exhaust system and remove any moisture in the engine. Obviously the longer you can do this the better.