VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So this is going to sound stupid im sure, but should i be running bio diesel on my 2011 jetta tdi, i fuelled up once since ive had it and fuelled up with regular diesel. Does this hurt the engine, lower mpg, or do anything to the vehical.

Thanks,

·
Registered
201 Posts
Let me explain that a little better. Bio has less energy so lower fuel economy. It also washes on the cylinder walls so you get reduced lubrication, more wear, and lower fuel economy.

·
Registered
126 Posts
Biodiesel and 'active' diesel particulate filter regeneration cycles don't work well together and on some vehicles will cause fuel dilution of the lube oil sump.

Watch for an increasing lube oil level.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ok so let me get this straight, dont run bio diesel? and im new to the whole diesel thing how do i know if its B5 or greater, when i filled up all it said was diesel on the pump.

·
Premium Member
23,902 Posts
It should say on the pump but there are some states that have around B2 in the fuel already, some have B5. Here is some on biodiesel blends: http://www.biodiesel.org/news/bulletin/2011/20110501.htm Minnesota and Oregon have B5 by law. Washington and Pennsylvania both have a B2 requirement in effect

Minnesota is scheduled to have B10 by 2012 and B20 by 2015. It will be interesting to see VW's response to these mandatory blends that are higher than what they have ever approved. It will also be interesting to see if past warranty denials based off B10 will receive compensation.