VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, if any formatting is incorrect, I apologise as I am on mobile.

Anyways, I have a golf TDI I bought cpo from a dealer I work for. It's in like new condition and I got it cheap. Currently at about 90k miles and running strong except the fuel economy is terrible. It gets 20mpg and worse at times. I drive around 350 miles per week, and I am putting in about 12 gallons or more per fill up, whereas before I was putting in 6-7. The power is also shit as well, this this g used to fly off the line but now it only has power when I floor it.

I am a technician so any advice that's on the technical side of things is welcome. One problem I also noticed is that the brake pedal sometimes goes rock hard as if there's no assist, the back to normal a second later. Weird, but since the vacuum is provided from the vacuum pump I am not concerned as I know there's a small line that cracks on the booster side that causes this. However, I smoke tested the system and after that, the gas mileage was great for 2 days, then it was back to crap and the power was still bad. I've noticed currently that it's eating about 3/4 a tank per 350 miles which is trash. I really need help with this one as I and the other techs can't find anything wrong. Any advice is appreciated, thanks!

·
Super Moderator
8,975 Posts
First posts normally go in introductions else you could get a free fix and we never see you again!!!

Forum Rules and Guidelines

Any problems search TDI Wiki as that covers write ups and forum posts.

You need to get your motor scanned (preferably with VAG-COM\VCDS) for any error codes logged in the ecu and post them, that will save a lot of guessing and check systems out.