VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, just recently I installed GTI style Projector headlights w/4500k HID kit for my 2010 Jetta TDI.

Link: http://www.parts4euro.com/DCShop/product_info.php?cPath=1_37_104&products_id=1100

I got them all hooked up and installed onto the vehicle, but when i go to use the high beams nothing happens. Everything else works except for the high beam. I know the electronics are different for the 2010 Jetta's, but i can't seem to figure out what to do with the coding and the Vag-Com part of this. I have no idea what Bi-Xenon shutters are and if I even have them or if they have anything to do with this. I'm new to all of this. Any help would be great. Thanks.

Cheers, Daniel

·
Premium Member
23,902 Posts
Bi xenon shutters won't do anything because it uses a physically non present wire to activate the HID shutters. If you had OEM HID you would have to add the wire to make the shutters work.

I recently helped someone install aftermarket headlights onto a 2010 Jetta and the weird thing is that everything worked except the parking light on one side. It would work but then turn off within a half second, throw a code, and not work again. I even verified all the wiring and applied 12v to the headlights to verify that everything on the headlights worked. It did.

As a start, any codes? If you can apply 12v to the headlights with them off the car and not connected to the wiring harness, do the high beams work? Just find the pin that powers 12v and ground.

One interesting thing is that the headlights say -2009 even though it's under Jetta.

You might be able to do something with VCDS but they don't support aftermarket HID kit coding. You could try PMing them directly or use your email support.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4