VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am trying to determine whether I got a Monday car or if these are common problems. While driving the car on three occasions over one year the car would start to miss and then die. The first time, the dealership found nothing. The second, they rebuilt the engine to the tune of $5,600.00.jaw drops The third time they found that the fuse would not seat properly and had to change its position it the fuse box. They graciously fixed the real problem for nothing.

Now, I am not a mechanic or technician, as they call them these days. When this happened the third time I asked them what methodology they used to come to the conclusion that the engine needed to be rebuilt after the second episode. They stated that the car started when they tried it so they did a compression test and found two of the cylinders low and the turbo "peeing" oil (their term, not mine). Up to this point I had no oil consumption issues.

My car has 190,000 kms (approximately 118,000 miles) on it and I have been very meticulous with the maintenance. I am not sure that my car needed an engine rebuild. When I used to tinker with cars (some time ago!) and cars used to stall you went after the obvious things first, spark and fuel. Obviously spark is not an issue in this case but I can't, for the life of me, understand what would bring a shop to check compression for a stalling problem that occurred on three occasions in a one year timeframe. Regardless, the dealership is insisting that this had to be done. I have nothing to show otherwise.