VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

2005 Passat and 2006 Jeep CRD - ECM Glowplug Control Signal Issue - Arduino solution

2K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  dlp 
#1 · (Edited)
2005 Passat and 2006 Jeep CRD - ECM Glowplug Control Signal Issue - Arduino Solution

I rarely post to forums, but this is such an unexpected problem I feel I should share.
We have both a 2005 Passat 2.0L TDI and a 2006 Jeep Liberty 2.8L CRD. Two completely different vehicles, with the same symptoms and the same root cause. They both developed difficulty in starting in cold weather, noticeable below 0 celsius, and progressively harder as it gets colder.
I went through quite a lot of trouble to find this, but both vehicles use Bosch glowplug control modules (GCM) and while they weren’t the problem, the pulse-width modulated (PWM) signal from the engine control module was.
I’m a retired electronics technician, so I’ll list all the info I have. With a Fluke DMM, the Passat glowplug voltage would start at 7.8Vdc (rms) for 1 to 2 seconds, then drop to 1.8V for the remainder of the 13 second cycle after you turn the key. This was the same for all glowplugs, and they were all drawing the same current. BTW, I must state that glowplugs or any heating element like them, like in a stove or hot water tank, do not get weak. They’re either good or they’re not, like an incandescent light bulb. And they should glow red brightly when you bench test them, something I didn’t know, though it seems obvious now.