VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Turbo stops working and check engine light comes on. Turning car off and back on again "fixes" it. From what I've read so far, this sounds like "Limp Mode." It has been slowly becoming more and more frequent over the past few months from weeks at first to hours now.

Took it in for repair and had the "pressure converter valve" (probably the N75 referred to in other posts) and the MAF replaced. Mechanic claimed it was fixed, but he must not have found a big enough hill for the test drive, as the problem reappeared the next day.

Other info on the car: Previous owner warned us of the VNT actuator sticking when his wife drove the car. As an aggressive driver, I did not have any problems with the turbo for over a year. Still we should probably check this out.

It's got a diesel geek race pipe and an updated chip tuned for the race pipe.

Mechanic is the best VW guy for 30 miles, but I probably just wasted money on unnecessary parts. Got a buddy who is not a mechanic, but he has worked on his own TDI and is good with hoses. Also we plan to get the basic codes from the local parts store.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Here's the code:
17964/P1556 - Charge Pressure Control: Negative Deviation

Possible Symptoms

* Reduced power output
* Limp mode

Possible Causes

* Boost Pressure too Low
* Hoses/Pipes incorrect connected, disconnected or leaking
* Charger Pressure Control defective
o VNT (variable nozzle turbo): nozzles stuck
* Solenoid Valve for Boost Pressure Control (N75) defective

Possible Solutions

* Check Hoses/Pipes to/between Components
* Check Solenoid Valve for Boost Pressure Control (N75)
* Check / Clean / Replace Charge Pressure Control
o Check / Clean mechanism for variable nozzles

·
Registered
18 Posts