VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I'm a noob so please forgive me for any ignorance or post ediqute, etc.

I have a 2000 tdi ALH 1.9l and I cannot figure out where the heck the IAT sensor is. I know that it should be on my intake pipe from intercooler but it appears mine is without... I will post a picture of the inter cooler pipe which is IAT/sensor-less after I get back in it.

Either this specific model does not have an IAT or my Jetta has the wrong inter cooler pipe on it from a TDI without an IAT sensor?

Someone please help me. I am losing it searching 2000 Jetta TDI ALH IAT sensor in google.

Thanks,

Nate

·
Super Moderator
9,151 Posts
There are various names for this.

Intake Air Temperature (IAT) Sensor 1 (G42) Charge Air Temperature/Intake Air Temperature (IAT) Sensor 1 (G42) Intake Air Temperature Sender (G42)
Intake Air Temperature (IAT) Sensor 2 (G72)
Intake Air Temperature (IAT) Sensor 2 (G299)
Intake Air Temperature (IAT) Sensor 3 (G520)

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Regardless of what name it has, I can't find it...

Need to double check but in the bentley book it reffers to it as g72 like below.

I have also gathered that it is found on the intake pipe for many alh engines like the second picture below...

My intake is sensor-less without a housing a place for a sensor either. I took bumper (for unrelated deal) off along with intercooler and have not found a sensor down there.

In the first image I see that the g71/g72 are together. Indication that the MAP also has IAT and they are one unit...

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
well not even, in the illustration picture it even says it is in the air duct pipe from IC. I DONT HAVE IT!