VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

Newbie here....just posted about my brake thumping last night. Well, now my car has been towed to the VW dealership :(. I don't think it's a related issue.

I was driving down the road when I noticed that my car was losing power. It was like I had it in too high a gear and it wouldn't "zoom". It would eventually get up to speed, but it took longer than it should. Once I got it on the interstate, it would only maintain a speed of 75 if the road was flat. I had to go up a pretty steep incline, and it just wouldn't maintain speed. It feel below 55mph, so I went to shift into 4th gear. It wouldn't go into gear. I couldnt' get it to go back to 5th either. I pulled over on the shoulder and came to a stop. I pushed the clutch in again, and it stayed on the floor. I was able to lift it up with my foot under it and then push it down again, but I couldn't get the car to go into any gear. I finally tried to put it in reverse with the clutch pushed in, and it went into reverse but it lurched and then wouldn't come out of reverse. I gave up at this point and just had it towed.

Is this my clutch that has gone out or something else? I am sooooo bummed! I bought this car just a week ago!!!!

Thanks

Erin

·
Premium Member
5,942 Posts
It doesn't sound to good at the moment but you'll just have to wait and see what the story is but I think there may be more than one thing here, it sounds like your turbo cut out which is probably just limp mode and not so bad and the clutch could just be the slave or master cylinder needing replaced or maybe leaking.:)

·
Premium Member
23,902 Posts
It doesn't seem related but that is certainly very unfortunate timing. Where did you buy it from? Private party is normally as-is.