VW TDI forum, Audi, Porsche, and Chevy Cruze Diesel forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I recently purchased a 2002 Jetta TDI wagon 1.9 with broken timing belt. I am a avid mechanic with access to all the right cam,crank and injection timing pin. I have install the correct head gasket, new head bolts and had the head remanufactured with new valves and lifters. I feel like my timing is right on. I found the -0 on the flywheel (auto) had the #1 cam lobs up with cam tool in place. injection pin in place. I had to loosed the three bolt on the injection pump gear(but did not touch the center) and the cam gear. I put the timing belt on adjusted my tentioner, locked down the injection pump and cam gear. I rotated the motor two rev's and checked my timing. Everything TDC. I let the vehicle sit overnight, then tried to start it. Cranks over fine, will not start. Tore down the timing covers again reconfirmed timing is on. I have been working on bleeding out the fuel lines for two day. Out of fustration I used a little ether. It starts and dies almost immediately. I am at a loss on what to check or do. I tried pulling a vaccum from the return line and opening and closing the 17mm nuts at the injectors. Foamy white fuel comes out of each injector. Still does not start.
Thanks for your help in advance

·
Premium Member
23,902 Posts
If it's really foamy it could still be air lock. It takes a very long time for the pump to self prime. Try loosening the nut and cranking some more.

If you still can't figure it out, make sure the fuel lines are routed correctly and the anti shudder valve is open. It's possible it's jammed but it's default position is to spring open. Maybe you have a vac line wrong? Try double checking them all.

If the rods were bent and the head gasket too thick, I could see low compression being a problem here.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
02 Jetta TDI