Yes, you can add Hill Hold Contol to 2010 MTs

Discussion in 'VW Mk6 Golf, Jetta, Beetle, Sportwagen TDI forum' started by smrtypants44, Jun 27, 2011.

  1. smrtypants44

    smrtypants44 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Car:
    2010 GTI
    So I went browsing through the various VAG features and I found this baby inside the ABS controller.
    [​IMG]

    I activated it and it works. :D
    login to remove this ad
  2. chittychittybangbang

    chittychittybangbang Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    21,590
    Car:
    2006 Jetta TDI
    Location:
    CT
    Nice, will add to the FAQ tonight!
  3. Keithuk

    Keithuk Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5,343
    Car:
    2010 Golf GTD (170) CBBB
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent, England
    Yes, you can add Hill Hold Contol to 2010 MTs

    On a manual transmission I don't see how thats possible.

    There are a load of options in VCDS but it doesn't mean they can be enabled on your vehicle?
  4. glennco

    glennco Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Car:
    2010 TDI Sportwagen
    Hill hold is an availBle option on all sorts of MT vehicles in the states. It effectively holds the brakes whole you are on an incline until it senses forward movement and releases them.
  5. smrtypants44

    smrtypants44 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Car:
    2010 GTI
    Trust me it definitely works. It was enabled on the 2010 DSGs and starting with '11s its enabled on both MT and DSG. Don't know why it wasn't enabled on the '10 MTs but it will work if you enable it via VAG-COM (at least on my GTI, i assume it'll work for the TDI too)
  6. turbospool1

    turbospool1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Car:
    2010 Jetta TDI 6 Speed Manual
    Hill Hold

    Has anyone tried this on a 2010 TDI MT???
  7. fujii13

    fujii13 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Car:
    2011 VW JSW
    Has anyone tried this is reverse? Would love to get rid of this feature on my 2011 JSW as it causes more stalls than it prevents. Often time you have to rev the engine higher to defeat the brake hold and if you don't, it will just cut the engine.
  8. Keithuk

    Keithuk Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5,343
    Car:
    2010 Golf GTD (170) CBBB
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent, England
    fujii13 I would imagine if you removed the tick out of the box and click Do-It it would be disabled?
  9. chittychittybangbang

    chittychittybangbang Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    21,590
    Car:
    2006 Jetta TDI
    Location:
    CT
  10. dataiv

    dataiv New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Car:
    2011 Golf Wagon TDI 6MT
    Yes you can turn it off. I did last night after finding this thread. Woohoo! Never had a need for hill hold in 350000km of my last car, and it was just annoying me.

    You can also adjust whether it release early or late, if turned on, in the adaptation channels of the ABS module as well. I didn't try that yet, but maybe I will just for kicks to see what the difference is. It said in VCDS that late means something like "requires higher RPM and clutch slip", while early means "low RPM". So I guess with early it will release more easily....

    But honestly, I'm with you in just having it turned off altogether and glad that it is possible to shut it off!
  11. Lorents

    Lorents New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Car:
    Golf 1.6 TDI 2010 Highline
    Mods:
    Rns 510 install
    I tried to find the Hill Control check box in VCDS on my European 2010 Golf TDI 1.6 MT but its not showing up. Only the Tire Pressure Monitoring check box is visible. Guess its not supported by all ABS controllers then :)
  12. trentf

    trentf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Car:
    2011 Golf TDI 6M black
    I have to admit, never driving a car with a hill hold feature before, it was a very, very odd feeling on the first incline I went up with my Golf...Im used to it now.

    Cheers!
  13. golfTDI1

    golfTDI1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Car:
    2010 VW Golf TDI 6M 4dr
    Mods:
    see signature
    No Dice, not compatible with my car...

    So, I had some time to play with the car today and I tried enabling this feature as mentioned by the OP. Yes the checkbox was there and yes the coding was accepted, but once I closed out of the controller I had an ESP error in MFD and the ESP/TCS indicator was lit in the speedometer pod.

    I went back in and tried to change the Hill Hold settings which now appeared in the adaptation, this didn't change anything. I ended up going back in to the long coding and unchecking the box and everything was back to normal. Then I remembered I had tried enabling this before when I first got the VCDS and had the same experience.

    I had totally forgotten I had even tried it. So it was a bust for me, and probably for most people. The hill hold control as far as I know requires an inclination sensor which I do not have installed.
  14. ensignba

    ensignba New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Car:
    2010 Golf



    Ditto the above, I even tried enabling the inclination sensor, still got the ESP/TCS lights

    Tried to enable XDS in the same control unit lol, got a fault for 'incompatible control unit' or something like that :(
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 30, 2011

Share This Page