Translating the VW Vacuum Hose Routing Diagram

Discussion in 'VW Mk4 Jetta, Golf, New Beetle, Passat TDI forum' started by Gilbeynut, Jun 19, 2017 at 10:48 AM.

1. Gilbeynut

Gilbeynut New Member

Car:
    VW Jetta 2004 1.9 TDI (BEW)
    Hey all. I'm new to TDIs and have recently acquired a 2004 Jetta 1.9 TDI (BEW with manual transmission) which is suffering from a loss of power. All I know from the previous owner is that is was running fine, but would then suffer a sudden loss of power. On restarting the car, power would be restored for a short time before it was lost again (I'm assuming this is the car falling into 'limp mode'. The guy took it to one of his mates (a self-claimed VW expert), who attempted to fix it. Apparently he stripped down the EGR and and intake manifold to clean them, but on getting the car back it now runs even worse and suffers a constant lack of power.

I want to 'baseline' the car before I start fault finding, so first off I want to ensure that the vacuum hoses are all correctly routed (I've found one pipe disconnected and one blanked off, so all is clearly not well). I got the Vacuum Hose Routing Diagram from this forum (included below), but it would seem that the terminology used differs slightly from the descriptions used by parts suppliers when I search on the part numbers. Therefore can someone please confirm whether or not I have correctly identified the valves from the part numbers on my car?

1J0906283C - Intake Manifold Switching Valve
    1J0906627B - Boost Pressure Control Valve (N75)
    037906283D - EGR Cooling Switching Valve
    Also, could someone help me identify the EGR Cooling Actuator? Is it Pt No 038131063E?

bewvac.jpg

2. crsmp5

crsmp5 Well-Known Member

Car:
    85 kubvan
    before you do anything...

how many miles on it?

how long since t belt?