Oil pump: is change REALLY ALWAYS necessary?

Discussion in 'General Diesel Discussion' started by Weezl436, Apr 10, 2012.

1. Weezl436

Weezl436 Member

Car:
    Passat GLS TDI wagon, 2005
    Mods:
    Thor skid plate
    Much has been said and written about the superiority of the gear-driven oil pump/balance shaft design, and as an engineer I am among the first to recognize this. However... many well- and properly-maintained engines with the chain-driven system have gone well into the 300,000 mile range without any catastrophic failure. So I have the following question: absent any signs of imminent failure of the oil pump unit and with all else being as it should be in the engine, and with no undue visible wear on the sprockets, would it not be to an owner’s financial advantage to replace just the chain and tensioner at the time of a timing belt/water pump, etc. change? Especially if this is just the first timing belt change? Any comments and/or observations would be welcome.
    login to remove this ad
  2. chittychittybangbang

chittychittybangbang Administrator

Car:
    2006 Jetta TDI
    It would be to the owner's financial advantage to load fine art into the trunk, push it off a cliff and pocket the insurance money!

Some comments: It's not possible to inspect for wear without being 3/4 into the job. You may see wear on chain tensioner guides but sprockets won't really wear much until it's already too loose. No noise until it's too loose as well. Even if tensioner guide is OK, tensioner likes to snap at a weak point which means sudden failure, no warning.

So if you're having the TB done and car is still on chain, if it were my car I'd do the gear conversion. The parts seem to be back ordered often so you have to plan ahead for this one.welcometomyturbodies
  3. YMZ

YMZ Super Moderator

Car:
    Jetta 2003, Golf 2001
    Latitude 44.407959, longitude -76.018369.