NEW to myturbodiesel, 2003 Volkswagen Jetta TDi Wagon issues

Discussion in 'VW Mk4 Jetta, Golf, New Beetle, Passat TDI forum' started by Evan_AE86, Nov 2, 2011.

1. Evan_AE86

Evan_AE86 New Member

Car:
    2003 Volkswagen Jetta TDi
    Hey my name is Evan and I am from Montreal, Quebc. I am a mechanic apprentice and does a lot of side jobs on friends cars. I joined this site to get more information on VW TDi. I my self own a 1985 Toyota Corolla (AE86). My father on the other hand owns a 2003 Volkswagen Jetta TDi Wagon that he bought new. It is now 8 years old and all of a sudden it needs alot of love and care.

Recent things that has been done to the car:

1) a used head was installed because one of the glow plugs had too much carbon build up and could not come out and ended out stripping the threads.

2) a used injection pump was installed because all of a sudden the car started to stall and the mil light came on with injection pump codes. (I dont remember the code # or how many codes there were)

3) EGR code P0401 came on all of a sudden and now I was sick of having my dad bring it to mechanics that didnt know the difference between their ass from their elbows and charging him top dollar just because it is a TDI... So I came across this wonderful site www.myturbodiesel.com and was reading everything about the EGR section that someone has made which I have much respect for. So I went to the VW parts place that i know of and bought a new EGR. I took out the old one and it was very clean just oily and all the vacuum diaphragms work perfectly. So I was suspicious about that being the problem. So I did some more research and I came across a forum post of someone saying they got the same code and it ended out being the turbo VNT actuator diaphragm that was leaking. So I ended out buying a vacuum tested and low and behold thats what was leaking. So once I am done writing my first post I am going to go and change that right away.