New Member..need engine help with 2003 TDI Jetta

Discussion in 'VW Mk4 Jetta, Golf, New Beetle, Passat TDI forum' started by Rick 91GT, Aug 20, 2012.

1. Rick 91GT

Rick 91GT Member

Car:
    2003 Jetta TDI
    I am brand new to TDI Jettas but ended up taking one as partial payment for some work I did on a customers race car.

The car is in excellent shape but had a engine noise and was very low on power. The head was recently replaced, front of motor was rebuilt, new injection pump and related components so I figured it couldn't be all that bad. I ordered a vag com that will arrive tomorrow but I decided to pull off the cam cover and found my noise.

The first cam lobe on cyl 1 is trash and the lifter is destroyed, the valve isnt moving so I know I have to pull the head and access the damage. My question is where is the best place to buy parts for these motors? Im a performance engine and car builder so this stock diesel is foriegn territory but Im excited to have a nice high mpg VW.

Where should I start? What should I avoid? What is a good manual for all the torque specs and procedures on these cars?

Thanks in Advance for the help, every search I did online led me to this site, looks like a good bunch of guys.

If needed the 5 digit is a 9 on the VIN.

Rick
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2012
    login to remove this ad
  2. YMZ

YMZ Super Moderator

Car:
    Jetta 2003, Golf 2001
    Latitude 44.407959, longitude -76.018369.
    welcometomyturbodies Welcome to the website!

If the head was recently replaced but is now showing the damage you describe, it was probably not of high quality.

Since you asked about a comprehensive manual, the Bentley's the standard reference, although you can probably find everything you need online...