left foot braking override

Discussion in 'VW Mk6 Golf, Jetta, Beetle, Sportwagen TDI forum' started by wrightwinger, Dec 13, 2012.

1. wrightwinger

wrightwinger New Member

Car:
    none yet
    I'm looking at replacing my old car. I really like the new sportwagens, but I can't buy a car that won't let me actually drive it.

Does anyone have experience with overriding the brake override that overrides the driver from left foot braking?

I've been researching, and researching, and keep coming up iffy.
    I know you can brake, THEN gas, but I need both.

I don't want any responses saying left foot braking is dumb.

I am not a race car driver, I am a commercial driver. I drive for a living.

I need brake+gas at the same time to recovered understeer and to lock differentials in the snow.
    My old car is an old chrysler, I love that it obeys it's driver, but it's getting old.

I also have a post on ABS if anyone has any feedback on that with the vws.

these "safety" overrides at best take the fun out of winter driving, and at worst, act like a spooked horse trying to kill you.

login to remove this ad
  2. chittychittybangbang

chittychittybangbang Administrator

Car:
    2006 Jetta TDI
    VW-Audi got pretty spooked after the driver induced runaway Audis in the 80s and it's all drive by wire so if possible it would require an ECU reflash from a tuner.

3. dangrass

dangrass Member

Car:
    2011 Jetta Sportwagen TDI
    How about using the handbrake? Does a great job of locking the rears on snowy roads and will definitely allow all the oversteer you could possibly want.

4. DubFamily

DubFamily Active Member

Car:
    2014 BMW 328D xDrive
    Mods:
    '12 Golf TDI sold to VW 2/8/17
    Only DSG cars override the accelerator pedal when you hit the brake. Get a manual :thumbsup

5. Seatman

Seatman Well-Known Member

Car:
    2000 Mk4 Golf Estate 1.9tdi 174 bhp
    Mods:
    PP764's, turbo and mapping