Introduction and 2003 Jetta TDI owner

Discussion in 'VW Mk4 Jetta, Golf, New Beetle, Passat TDI forum' started by tduckworth, Aug 2, 2011.

1. tduckworth

tduckworth New Member

Car:
    2003 Jetta TDI
    My name is Tim and I came across this site while troubleshooting a turbo issue with my fiance's Jetta.

There is so much good information here it would be silly of me not to register.

I work in the IT Security field but have always done all the maintenance on my vehicles. I used to race motorcycles as well. Anyway, I have very limited knowledge on turbo diesel motors.

If you have any questions about motorcycles, fighting fires, or computers, feel free to send me a personal message and I'll be happy to address it.
    login to remove this ad
  2. chittychittybangbang

chittychittybangbang Administrator

Car:
    2006 Jetta TDI
    Welcome! Limp mode I'm guessing? Very common, see the limp mode troubleshooting FAQ article.welcometomyturbodies
  3. tduckworth

tduckworth New Member

Car:
    2003 Jetta TDI
    I don't have an engine light or get any codes from my code reader (hard or soft codes). I don't have access to a VAG. I replaced the MAF sensor and fuel filter. This helped some. I tried running the car with the new MAF disconnected and it ran a bit better. I can hear the turbo spin up but I don't feel much of a HP increase. My neighbor who is a seasoned European mechanic says that the turbo isn't working at all. He took the car for a drive and said that this car should be way faster. I checked vacuum on the actuator by pulling the vacuum line off of the N75 and pulling suction from a "mighty vac". It did hold a vacuum. If I push on the actuator with my finger, it does move smoothly but it takes a good deal of pressure (assuming this is from a stiff spring inside the actuator).

Is there a way that I can rule out the turbo as the culprit? What signs would I look for if the bearings were shot?
  4. chittychittybangbang

chittychittybangbang Administrator