Help with timing belt on CAGA engine

Discussion in 'Audi TDI forums' started by aoleks, Aug 26, 2016.

1. aoleks

aoleks New Member

Car:
    Audi A4 B8 2008 2.0 TDI CR
    Hi all,

I'm new around here. I would need some help with a timing belt change on my A4 (B8 2.0 TDI CR). For the record, I'm no mechanic, but I do all the maintenance on my car and motorcycle and never had any issues. Today however, I had to stop...

I saw your video on how to change the timing belt, I have the official Audi workshop manual and there's also a PDF that describes the procedure for this engine model.

What I read is that I need to turn the crankshaft to TDC (did that, all ok), lock it with the special tool (did that, all ok) and then lock the camshaft and high pressure pump with the M6 pins. When my crankshaft is at TDC, the pins don't go in the holes, they're a bit off (roughly 1mm each). The video mentions that sometimes, the holes are a bit off due to belt wear, but what happens if I unscrew the camshaft and high pressure pump without the bolts in?

It doesn't make sense to me that I would be able to insert them at a later point, because the loose sprockets do not turn the cam and pump. Also, if I were to turn them manually after taking off the belt, I'm afraid I might ruin the timing.

My questions are:

1. Why aren't the holes aligned when engine is at TDC? Even the TDC window on camshaft is at around 11 when the pin can be fitted.

2. Am I right when I say that once I align the crankshaft, if I then manually move the camshaft and high pressure pump to accept the pin, everything will be aligned? Or isn't this the way it works?

3. Is there any way to reset the timing, revert it to factory settings in case anything goes wrong?

4. How do I remove the serpentine belt tensioner on this model??? It's attached from the back, but I don't see any bolt!

Thanks a million, all help is appreciated.

login to remove this ad
  2. chittychittybangbang

chittychittybangbang Administrator