Fuel leak !

Discussion in 'VW Mk6 Golf, Jetta, Beetle, Sportwagen TDI forum' started by chfscott, Apr 6, 2011.

1. chfscott

chfscott New Member

Car:
    2011 JSW TDI
    On my way home this morning in my 2011 jsw I noticed a little smoke coming from under the hood. When I reached the off ramp I got a wiff of diesel:eek. I have had the car less than two months but have a long commute so I just turned 5k miles. I have had the car back to the dealership three times, the first two were fit/finish issues so this is the first(hopefully last) major issue. I am new to VW and equally new to diesel so hopefully I won't regret my choice. I love the way the car drives/size, and with my long commute the mpg was the deal maker. I just commented to my wife this week that the only below average Consumer Reports rating for this car was the fuel system. I guess they knew what they were talking about.
    login to remove this ad
  2. Stefan2006

Stefan2006 New Member

Car:
    2006 VW Jetta TDI
    Smoke? Was it in fact a fuel leak? IMHO, with that long of a drive I'd just put up with any small issues.
  3. chfscott

chfscott New Member

Car:
    2011 JSW TDI
    It was/is a fuel leak caused either by the fuel rail or the injector according to the service writer. The tech said when the ignition was turned and the system pressurized the leak appeared. He ordered parts to repair both and hopefully it will be repaired and returned to me tomorrow, or is that today, I get confused working nights. Anyway, this was not an issue to be "put up with", the car had not exhibited anything like this previously and the smell of fuel was pretty strong.
  4. buggy9

buggy9 New Member

File a report with the NTHSA, any problem that is safety related should be reported.
  5. chfscott

chfscott New Member

Car:
    2011 JSW TDI