ECM swap and SKC code retrival???

Discussion in 'VW Mk4 Jetta, Golf, New Beetle, Passat TDI forum' started by fab2121, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. fab2121

    fab2121 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Car:
    2002 VW Golf TDI
    Swapping out the bad ecm for another and don't have the original skc code.
    How can I do it without going to the stealership??
    2002 Golf TDI MK4 5 speed . . .
    Thanks!!
    login to remove this ad
  2. chittychittybangbang

    chittychittybangbang Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    21,883
    Car:
    2006 Jetta TDI
    Location:
    CT
    You need to get the SKC from both. Check the immo FAQ.
  3. H maire

    H maire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Car:
    2001 jetta GLS diesel
    I am pretty sure you will have to go to the dealer.

    Most cars today, the millage of your car is stored in the ECM. I could be wrong but I am pretty sure this VW is the same.
  4. balomo41

    balomo41 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Car:
    2002 VW GTI 1.8T
    My understanding is that both immo and ecm pins are the same on immo3, supose you know your immo pin and have a used ecm you want to install, will you be able to read it through engine and get a used ecm pin or you'll need to read it trhrough immo? using the hacker VAG Tacho?
  5. Seatman

    Seatman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,218
    Car:
    2000 Mk4 Golf Estate 1.9tdi 174 bhp
    Location:
    Scotland
    Mods:
    PP764's, turbo and mapping
  6. balomo41

    balomo41 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Car:
    2002 VW GTI 1.8T
    Ithink I am not understood, Ross-Tech is giving info on swapping ecu, assuming you have both pins of old ECU and a Used ECU, which is my case where I only kno my old ECU PIN, and a used one I don't know if I try to hack it will not get the same old PIN since Immo and ECU pin number are the same.( The new used ecu installed in the car being read together with old Immo) Oh, and by-the-way, Yesterday I openned my cabin air filter and found a mouse nest, the mouse may have eaten my wiring causing the cluster lights not to work. newspapers, insulations, food and so on...!

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 12, 2012
  7. Keithuk

    Keithuk Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5,464
    Car:
    2010 Golf GTD (170) CBBB
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent, England
    You need to pick better food in the car then they wouldn't chew the wiring? ;)
  8. Seatman

    Seatman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,218
    Car:
    2000 Mk4 Golf Estate 1.9tdi 174 bhp
    Location:
    Scotland
    Mods:
    PP764's, turbo and mapping
    According to rosstech you need the old and new skc's so going by that you're going to have to find a way of getting the new code.

    I know over here when swapping clocks we get the skc from the car using vag tacho mostly, I'm not sure if it comes from the clocks or the ecu though.
  9. Keithuk

    Keithuk Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5,464
    Car:
    2010 Golf GTD (170) CBBB
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent, England

Share This Page