Did any of you consider a Sportswagen?

Discussion in '2012-2015 VW Passat TDI forum' started by sambub, May 3, 2012.

1. sambub

sambub New Member

Car:
    Saab 9-5
    Newbie here. Thanks for all the great info! I'm close to getting a car and have narrowed it down to the Passat TDI SE (manual) or a loaded TDI wagon (manual, NAV, roof). I like the Passat, but will dearly miss a roof and the roof on the Jetta is so cool. Plus, it'd be nice to have NAV. Anyone else consider the wagon? If so, why'd you opt for the Passat?
    login to remove this ad
  2. 12whitejsw

12whitejsw New Member

Car:
    2012 Jetta Sportwagen
    I had a similar experience when choosing my car. As it is I was due for a new company car and the Passat and JSW were in contention. I like the Passat, a lot of room, great mileage, nice looks...so on. But I also like the JSW, available nav w/giant sunroof, sporty looks and again great mileage. I think both vehicles are great cars but I guess it came down to cost. I could get a fully loaded JSW for the cost of a base Passat TDI. Also, I drive 90% by myself so additional rear leg room was not a major concern. Plus parking is easier with a smaller vehicle. Lastly, my fiance recently got the new Jetta sedan TDI. That thing has the roughly the same interior space as the Passat and is cheaper.
    I am not against or dogging the Passat as it is a great car for those looking to move out of the compact/midsize arena to the full size car. I am currently trying to convince my father to move to a Passat as he is use to a full size and needs a new vehicle.
    So I guess it just boils down to size and features. Do you want all the bells and whistles in a smaller package or are you willing to spend more for a larger car?
  3. WeeeZer14

WeeeZer14 New Member

Car:
    2012 Passat TDI SE