DEF P205B temp sensor DIY fix

Discussion in '2012-2016 VW Passat TDI forum' started by Pwinchell, May 29, 2015.

1. Pwinchell

Pwinchell New Member

Car:
    2012 Passat TDI SEL/2004 Jetta TDI
    Just wanted to post a DIY fix for the dreaded adblue tank temp sensor. Before posting I wanted to insure it would work. I've been running it for about six months now with no issues. This is only for the temp sensor failure and not the heaters or pump. Some may get other codes if the temp sensor fails during colder months, so you need to insure that it's just the temp sensor. Easy way to do this is clear all codes and when the CEL comes on check codes to see if it's just P205B.

You will need a 10k thermistor which can be purchased off eBay for $1.99-$10.00 depending on quality. Make sure it is H20 proof. You can find these labeled as aquarium tank temp sensors, but must be a 10k ohm.

First you need to remove the tank. Find the connector attached to the fill neck. This is where you are going to connect the new sensor. The small black and white wires on the bottom are the temp sensors. These are the two wires to connect the new sensor too. Make sure you cut them on the sensor side black and white and not the other side of the connector. This will allow plug and play if you ever have to replace the whole unit. Make sure you cover/seal the bare wires from the old sensor as to reduce creep down the wires into the tank.
    image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg